Your excessive FAT will kill you just when you want to live longer


Image Detail

You must begin to think of yourself as becoming the person you want to be. – David Viscott

If you look good you feel good. It appears that people who feel good usually tend to set a higher goal to achieve and move ahead. They exude a level of positive energy that helps them catapult themselves to achieving greater things in life. And one of the things that helps a person feel this good is being healthy. It is perhaps one of the single most important aspect that contributes to a great living and positive life.

Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.  ~World Health Organization, 1948

This is yet another universally well-known fact that we usually pay very little heed to, and continue to indulge in habits and behaviours almost deliberately that makes us unhealthy. And one of the most common and notoriously famous is our body over weight. I am one who is guilty of this as well. Yes, I am fat and I do not wish to be unrealistically sensitive and deliberately oblivious about the obvious lard I carry around my belly. But unlike many, I choose not to blame the habits, diet, or the activities, or my life style but I instead put it squarely on my choice.

When it comes to eating right and exercising, there is no “I’ll start tomorrow.”  Tomorrow is disease.  ~Terri Guillemets

I once saw a famously handsome actor on a talk show after his movie was released where he portrayed a character as a rather chubby person. He was back to his slim handsome self on the show. So the talk show host asked him how he managed to put on that much weight and reduce it so fast. His answer was rather simple but I found it to be quiet profound in a way. He said: “Its simple, you eat a lot of calories and don’t work out or choose a lifestyle that doesn’t burn your calories to put on weight, or eat lesser calories and work out to burn your excess calories, simple!”.

In my daily life I used to live like a slob mostly. My mornings through the coffee drive through is like a stealthy spy trying to avoid the peering and harsh list of fat doughnuts, muffins and sandwiches screaming at me to pick them up. My stop at the gas station is another bloody battle from those gleaming shiny bars of chocolates strategically sitting by the counter waiting to catch my eye, and those horrible bag of chips sitting all puffed up and pretty wearing the pictures of the contents within to tease me. And Oh! Don’t mention the array of stout cans and bottles of drinks standing tall in line like marching soldiers looking at me through their well stocked glass door refrigerators! Ah! What a battle it is daily! And the horrible Clerk at the till: “Would like to pick up two bars of these Chocolates and get a gazillion points for putting on those extra pounds sir?” Please??? Batting her fake eyelashes!

Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow ye diet. – William Gilmore Beymer

Anyways, the time had come! I could barely see my manhood standing straight! I officially had a belly! A Paunch! A disgusting mass of fat belted around my waist. And that was it! I am not going to be another slob and make excuses anymore. I had to do something about it! So my first few attempts were to ask a few friends, then a few guys at work, and try a list of endless diets. The friends agree and say they too will join you, but they wont, people at work will give you pointers that are the usual run of the mill, others who have some sort of structure offer to train you and write up a training program for you, and the diets work great for a while and you eventually give up as usual. You can go for a cleanse, inject B12 shots, eat cabbage soup, balance your intake of calories with the new fad diet, cut carbohydrates and kill yourself with protein, and the list goes on. You  water the first week, the second week your craving for sugar and carbohydrates start making you mad, and by 3rd week you don’t need an excuse to give it all up because by now you have already lost a few pounds. Now you put it all back in just 4 days.

So, I decided to go to a gym and pay for a personal trainer who will perhaps give me some intelligent and educated advice and put me on some kind of a plan. After floundering through a list of great deals offered by the numerous gyms, I chose one were I will not have to find myself amidst a crowd of steroid junkies or people who look like models for a Fitness magazine where I will have to squirm and cringe with shame. I also looked for someone who had some credentials. Like who has got some certificate in weight training, and has schooled in body fitness programs etc.

I had my first meeting with him. He started talking about what you eat; tell me about your life style, what are your life goals, what motivates you etc. I bluntly told him look buddy. Don’t patronize me and waste my time here. I have done it all, the diets, the dramas, and the excuses. I have done the research and picked you for your reputation and credentials. So let us cut the pep talk and get to the program. Build me a program based on my body that I will not give up due to excessive fatigue, and I can gradually increase the intensity that will help me get back to shape. I have made up my mind and chosen to make myself healthy and feel good. There was nothing that could stop me.

Your goals, minus your doubts, equal your reality. – Ralph Marston

He first made me stand on a scale. It was a funny scale with a digital monitor and rabbit ears that I had to hold on to for about 2 minutes. It spat out a printout at my lard covered body. It is called a Body Composition Analyzer. It did a simple math that is available on several websites (just search for body mass calculator) and listed my body mass index and details. It said how much I am over weight, how much fat I have in my body. Where are the fat concentrations on my body, what my ideal weight is, and how many calories I will need to burn per day in a six-week program or a 10 week program to get to my ideal weight? So I had to loose 1200 calories per day for a 4 week program to get back to my ideal weight and statistics. It will bring me back to shape, increase my stamina, increase my energy and hopefully enhance my libido.

Next the fat burning program. He gave me a 1 hour program and worked with me for the hour to show me what to do. 10 min on the elliptical trainer, 15 squats, 15 pulls on a rowing machine, 15 chest stretched with a 15 lbs weight, 15 times lie down and lift both your legs to about 30 degrees for my abdomen, 15 times lift 10 lbs weights from waist to shoulder with arms stretched, 15 times pick a 8 lbs ball from my left toe to right shoulder and vice versa for the opposite side. I was sweating like a roast pig in a smelter. Phew! He told me that was approximately a 600 – 700 calorie burn out. The rest I had to reduce with my calorie intake. Simple! If I do these 5 days a week for 4 weeks he says I will be back in shape.

I got back home. Went on the net to see how I can reduce calories. The research told me roughly 3500 calories equates to 1 lbs of body fat. You should not cut down more than 1000 calories per day from your daily current diet. So my quick calculation said cut my cola and soft drink intake (that’s 280 calories) opt for a 0 calorie drink, cut French fries (270 calories), cut down hamburgers (300-500 calories), chocolates (1 bar about 500 calories). So I need to make simple educated choices on what I eat and I can easily cut down over a 1000 calories per day and I needed to just cut down another 600 calories only with my work out. How simple is that?

You must do the thing you think you cannot do. – Eleanor Roosevelt

Then I went on to learn a few simple common tricks:

  • 8 glass of cold water helps not only wash out the toxins but keeps you hydrated which makes you feel energetic and revived, it also helps make you feel full.
  • Eat frequent small healthy snacks between meals especially. A fist full of almonds, celery sticks, baby carrots, and a fiber bar etc. It stops you from over eating during regular meals and keeps you feeling full.
  • Eat slowly. Wait a few seconds before you fill your mouth again between bites. Your stomach needs a few seconds to get the food and tell your brain it is full.
  • Eat water melons, cantaloupes or an Apple at night at least 2 hours before you sleep. Have a low-calorie dinner basically.
  • Don’t deprive yourself of what you like. This only increases your cravings. Eat and indulge a little. But control your portions. You do not need to devour all that is on the plate. Eat what you feel like eating but control the portion or quantity.
  • Eat light for dinner. Or at least balance your intake. If you pigged out for lunch balance it for dinner and vice versa.
  • Don’t look for a closer parking spot at the grocery run or work. Park at the end and walk. It may be just a short distance but it helps your metabolism. You can walk for hours shopping at the mall so why can’t you just walk a short distance to and from your car? Take the stairs not the elevator for at least a few flights.
  • And don’t make excuses. Not tomorrow, not starting Monday, not after this weekend. Wake up. take a decision, and begin now! Do it now do it for yourself and don’t do it because people tell you.
  • Be healthy, and you will look very nice, feel positive and look at life differently. You will attract the opposite sex more frequently, agree or not it will help boost your morale and confidence. You will begin to think better, sleep like a baby, wake up fresh in the morning, work smarter etc. Make a positive choice and firstly make that choice about your health, appearance and habits.
  • Try carrying a bag weighing just 5 lbs for a day in your hand. Or just tie it to your waist for a day. You will soon realize how it will feel if you will lose that excess 5 lbs from your body. What many do not realize is how depressed they are when they are over weight. The realization comes soon when you begin looking weight. You sure feel much more positive and happier.
  • You do not need to starve, drink or eat other clinically developed chemicals, get on a program where a stranger has to charge you to make you do the things you knew in the first place, cook special meals for yourself, or get you a secret potion. Just simply use your common sense and eat right and burn more.
  • Remember – eat fewer calories and try to burn some daily. It is not a big secret or rocket science or you don’t need a fitness guru or a Doctor to tell you this. Yes, if you have any ailments or health complications Doctors are just like God sent. But for simple weight loss? Use your common sense and not your excuses!

Love food, eat well, remember that you only live once, so enjoy life, eat all the things you like, use simple common sense to be healthy!

From the bitterness of disease man learns the sweetness of health.  ~Catalan Proverb

The problem with people is that everyone knows when they need to lose weight but never do it. Like a smoker knows the dangers of smoking but still chooses to smoke. While the overweight individual looks at a smoker and thinks in their mind how stupid they are for not doing anything about it, the smoker thinks the same about the overweight individual. Not doing what is right and needed, and choosing to continue doing what is wrong is nothing but stupidity. One can choose to blame the world, the weather, people, and the dog next door. No matter how you spice it, dice it or slice it an “excuse” and it is nothing but just that – an “Excuse”.  And there is absolutely no one who can help you but yourself. It isn’t the next Fad diet, the old proven diet, the quick loss diet or the cleanse. It is you, your will and desire to look good, feel good and be happier! A diet program may be a good start for some, but the will to keep it going is all about you and your desire to get healthy and feel great.

The tragedy in life doesn’t lie in not reaching your goal. The tragedy lies in having no goal to reach. – Benjamin Mays

So, get off the couch, stop opening the refrigerator door to see the contents there in for the 100th time in the day and do anything you can to burn just a few calories to begin with. Just take one such simple first step, then another a few days later and begin your journey to a better and healthier you. Try and experience a healthy you for a change. No, losing weight is not a cure to your life problems. But it sure helps you take a fresh new look at the same problems with a positive attitude and to act upon a solution to resolve them. It is simply amazing when you feel the sudden surge of energy and positivity than the lethargy and guilt! The saddest fact about living life as a ticking time bomb is it explodes just when you want to live longer.

More die in the United States of too much food than too little. _ John Kenneth Galbraith

Leave a Reply

